20th Annual Critics' Choice Awards, Jan 15, 2015, LA

Amy Adams Photo: A&E Network
Affair: 20th Annual Critics' Choice Awards

When: Thursday, January 15, 2015 @6PM

Hot Spot: The Hollywood Palladium, LA

Deets: The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) announced the winners of the 20th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards tonight, live from the Hollywood Palladium. The show aired on A&E at 9pm ET/6pm PT and was hosted by Michael Strahan.

“Boyhood” was named Best Picture and garnered three additional wins including Best Supporting Actress for Patricia Arquette, Best Young Actor/Actress for Ellar Coltrane, and Best Director for Richard Linklater.

“Birdman,” the most nominated film of the evening, won seven awards including Best Actor for Michael Keaton, Best Acting Ensemble, Best Original Screenplay for Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr., and Armando Bo, Best Cinematography for Emmanuel Lubezki, Best Editing for Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione, Best Actor in a Comedy for Michael Keaton, and Best Score for Antonio Sanchez. Michael Keaton is the first person in the 20-year history of the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards to win three awards in a single year (Best Actor, Best Actor in a Comedy, and as part of the “Birdman” Best Ensemble).

“The Grand Budapest Hotel” claimed three awards including Best Comedy, Best Art Direction for Adam Stockhausen (Production Designer) and Anna Pinnock (Set Director), and Best Costume Design for Milena Canonero.

Best Action Movie winner “Guardians of the Galaxy” picked up an additional award for Best Hair & Makeup. Additional winners include Julianne Moore for Best Actress for “Still Alice,” J.K. Simmons for Best Supporting Actor for “Whiplash,” Bradley Cooper for Best Actor in an Action Movie for “American Sniper,” Emily Blunt for Best Actress in an Action Movie for “Edge of Tomorrow,” Jenny Slate for Best Actress in a Comedy for “Obvious Child,” Gillian Flynn for Best Adapted Screenplay for “Gone Girl,” and Common and John Legend for Best Song for “Selma.”

“The Lego Movie” was awarded Best Animated Feature while “Force Majeure” took home Best Foreign Language Film. “Life Itself” was named Best Documentary Feature, “Interstellar” Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie, and Best Visual Effects went to “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.”

As announced previously, Kevin Costner, Ron Howard and Jessica Chastain each received special honors at the ceremony. Rene Russo presented Kevin Costner with the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ celebrating more than three decades of incredible work in film. Chris Hemsworth presented the ‘Critics’ Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award’, established to honor an icon who has demonstrated unprecedented excellence in the cinematic arts, to multiple award-winning director, producer and actor Ron Howard. Chris Pratt presented the inaugural ‘Critics’ Choice MVP Award,’ to Jessica Chastain, recognizing an extraordinary actress for her work in several standout movies throughout a single year – Interstellar, Miss Julie, A Most Violent Year (which also earned her a Best Supporting Actress nomination this year), and The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby.

“The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards” are bestowed annually by the BFCA to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics’ organization in the United States and Canada, representing almost 300 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today’s film-going public. Historically, the “Critics’ Choice Movie Awards” are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

Hint For The Average Socialite: For a full list of winners visit Critics Choice. Check out more upcoming Award Shows here.

What's Trending: @CriticsChoice #CriticsChoice