9th Annual Shorty Awards, NYC

Courtesy of The Shorty Awards

Affair: 9th Annual Shorty Awards for the Best of Social Media

When: Sunday, April 23, 2017 @ 7PM

Hot Spot: Playstation Theater, NYC 

Deets: The Shorty Awards honor the best of social media by recognizing the influencers, brands and organizations on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Tumblr, Instagram, Snapchat, Vine and more. Past winners include Taylor Swift, Tyler Oakley, Casey Neistat, Hannibal Buress, Malala Yousafzai, Jenna Marbles, J.K. Rowling, PewDiePie, and DJ Khaled.

What happens on social media can change the world, create new stars and ignite global movements. The Shorty Awards were the first awards to honor social media, and by constantly evolving along with the medium it honors The Shortys remains the most prominent award show of its kind, engaging an online audience of millions and culminating in a blockbuster ceremony in New York City. 

Winners are chosen through a combination of votes from the public and scores given by the Real Time Academy.

Who You May Spot: Previous Shorty Awards ceremonies welcomed Ricky Gervais, George Takei, Jimmy Kimmel, Retta, Jerry Seinfeld, Kiefer Sutherland, Jim Gaffigan, Amanda Palmer, Conan O'Brien, Cory Booker, Natasha Leggero, Sesame Street's Grover, Ted Leo, Shaquille O'Neal, Stephen Fry, Suze Orman, Rachel Maddow, William Shatner, Carrie Keagan, Chris Hardwick, David Karp, Biz Stone, Alexis Ohanian, Coco Rocha, Andrew WK, Samantha Bee and Jason Jones, Matt Walsh, Aasif Mandvi, Tiffani Thiessen, Jerry Stiller, Anne Meara, and Felicia Day.

Hint For The Average Socialite:
Tickets are available now!

The 9th Annual Shorty Awards will be live in NYC & streaming April 23rd. Subscribe to their newsletter to be kept in the loop on how to tune in, in the meantime, check out the full list of nominees & finalists below!

What's Trending: @shortyawards