2017 CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) Fashion Awards, NYC

Photo: Kevin Tachman

When: Monday, June 5, 2017

Hot Spot: Hammerstein Ballroom, NYC

Deets: Swarovski and the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) celebrated the winners and honorees of the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards on Monday, June 5th at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York. This year marked the 16th consecutive year Swarovski has collaborated with the CFDA on the prestigious Awards. The ceremony was hosted by Seth Meyers, host of Late Night with Seth Meyers, who previously emceed in 2012.

For the first time ever, the Awards featured a unified Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent that applied to womenswear, menswear and accessory design. The winner of the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent was presented to Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse by actress Kerry Washington; providing the designer duo with generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources. (Nominees included: Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriela Hearst, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan.)

Additionally, Kenneth Cole was presented with the new Swarovski Award for Positive Change by musician Jon Bon Jovi. The special award honors an individual in the U.S. fashion industry who has made a positive impact on American communities and has improved the welfare of others.

Notably, more than 87.5 million Swarovski crystals were integrated into the ceremony’s décor with chandeliers, a crystal podium, 55 tabletop lanterns, and a crystal winners walk backdrop.

“We are honored to continue our partnership with the CFDA and it is particularly special this year,” said Nadja Swarovski, Executive Board Member of Swarovski. “Swarovski has a long history of philanthropy woven into our DNA. And it’s with that spirit that we wanted to celebrate this industry’s propensity for giving back. The CFDA Swarovski Award for Positive Change was created because positive change is the pinnacle of excellent design. And this year, with the Emerging Talent Award, we’ve identified those designers pushing boundaries across multiple categories. These designers are the visionaries of tomorrow and we’re proud to champion them today.”

The 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards winners and nominees include:

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein for the Womenswear Designer of the Year, presented by actress Nicole Kidman. (Nominees included: Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.)

Raf Simons for Calvin Klein for the Menswear Designer of the Year, presented by actor Armie Hammer. (Nominees included: Robert Geller, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder.)

Stuart Vevers for Coach for the Accessory Designer of the Year, presented by actress Mandy Moore. (Nominees included: Irene Neuwirth, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Paul Andrew, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row.)

Notable appearances in Swarovski include: Actress Kerry Washington in a custom Prabal Gurung dress made with Swarovski crystals and Atelier Swarovski Fine Jewelry Concentric long earrings and Concentric ring; model Lily Aldridge in a custom Jason Wu dress made with Swarovski crystals; model Maye Musk in a Rosie Assoulin Spring/Summer 2017 dress made with Swarovski crystals and Atelier Swarovski Fine Jewelry Concentric collier and Concentric manchette, as well as the Atelier Swarovski Moselle double drop earrings in crystal moonlight; model and UN Goodwill Ambassador, Praya Lundberg, in Atelier Swarovski by Jason Wu Mosaic neckpiece and large bangle in multi; actress Mary Elizabeth Weinstead in Atelier Swarovski by Paul Andrew Domino necklace worn as a bracelet and double ring in teal, and Atelier Swarovski Moselle double stud earrings in blue zircon; and model Martha Hunt carried a Khirma Eliazov clutch made with Swarovski crystals, with a percentage of the proceeds going to The YoungArts Foundation.

Spotted: Host Seth Meyers, Rick Owens, Pat McGrath, Janelle Monáe, Gloria Steinem, Kenneth Cole, Diana von Furstenberg, Kerry Washington, Jon Bon Jovi, Lily Aldridge, Mary Elizabeth Weinstead, Praya Lundberg, Martha Hunt and May Musk.

Hint For The Average Socialite: This event is strictly invite only.

For a full list of nominees and honorees click here.

What's Trending: @CFDA #CFDAAwards