2017 Crystal + Lucy Awards® Annual Benefit Gala, LA


Affair: 2017 Crystal + Lucy Awards® Annual Benefit Gala

When: Tuesday, June 13, 2017 @ 6PM

Hot Spot: The Beverly Hilton, Beverly Hills, CA

Deets: Since 1977, Women In Film, Los Angeles (WIF LA) has annually honored outstanding women in the entertainment industry – women who lead by example, are creative, groundbreaking, and excel at their chosen fields. This year’s Crystal + Lucy Awards®fundraising dinner, in support of WIF LA’s educational and philanthropic programs and its advocacy for gender parity for women throughout the industry, will be held on Tuesday, June 13 at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, CA.

The 2017 Crystal + Lucy Award® honorees are:
· The Crystal Award for Excellence in Film – ELIZABETH BANKS
· The Lucy Award for Excellence in Television – TRACEE ELLIS ROSS
· The Women In Film Max Mara Face of the Future Award® – ZOEY DEUTCH
· The BMW Dorothy Arzner Directors Award® – MIRA NAIR
· The Norma Zarky Humanitarian Award® – DAN RATHER
· The Women In Film Beacon Award – MICHAEL BARKER & TOM BERNARD

The evening, themed “Evolve,” will be hosted by actress and comedian Jessica Williams. The 2017 Crystal + Lucy Awards is presented by sponsors Max Mara and BMW and is designed and produced by Tony Schubert of Event Eleven.

Cathy Schulman, President of Women In Film, Los Angeles, said, “Throughout the last five years, Women In Film has focused its efforts on research, raising awareness, and sustainable solutions for gender parity in media. The theme of this year’s Crystal + Lucy Awards gala is “Evolve,” reflecting the advocacy work we’ve done, the pressing demand for systemic change, and the promise of an inclusive future.”

Iris Grossman, President Emerita of Women In Film, Los Angeles, returning this year as Chair of the Awards, said, “We are proud to celebrate this year’s honorees, who are also focused on gender parity solutions and changing the system, through their artistry, their leadership, and by their example.”

About Women In Film and the Awards
Women In Film is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting equal opportunities for women, encouraging creative projects by women, and expanding and enhancing portrayals of women in all forms of global media. Given that women comprise fifty percent of the population, WIF's ultimate goal is to see the same gender parity reflected on and off screen. Founded in 1973, WIF focuses on advocacy and education, provides scholarships, grants and film finishing funds and works to preserve the legacies of all women working in the entertainment community. For more information visit www.wif.org.

The Crystal Award was established in 1977 to honor outstanding women who, through their endurance and the excellence of their work, have helped to expand the role of women within the entertainment industry. Past recipients include Nicole Kidman, Cate Blanchett, Laura Linney, Viola Davis, Annette Bening, Donna Langley, Jennifer Aniston, Diane English and the cast of The Women,Renée Zellweger, Jennifer Lopez, Sandra Bullock, Gwyneth Paltrow, Diane Lane, Halle Berry, Laura Ziskin, Jessica Lange, Meryl Streep, Jodie Foster, Angela Bassett, Meg Ryan, Susan Sarandon, Michelle Pfeiffer, Alfre Woodard, Polly Platt, Lauren Shuler Donner, Diane Warren, Amy Heckerling, Paula Weinstein, Martha Coolidge, Buffy Shutt and Kathy Jones, Gale Anne Hurd, Nancy Malone, Maya Angelou, Lily Tomlin, Ruby Dee, Penny Marshall, Jessica Tandy, Barbara Boyle, Nikki Rocco, Jean Firstenberg, Lee Remick, Lina Wertmuller, Bette Davis, Bette Midler, Goldie Hawn, Diane Keaton, Sherry Lansing, Nora Ephron, Dawn Steel, Fay Kanin, Lillian Gish, Whoopi Goldberg, Glenn Close, Amy Pascal, Denise Di Novi, Lucy Fisher, Lianne Halfon, Lynda Obst, Jane Rosenthal, and Paula Wagner.

The Lucy Award was founded in 1994 by Joanna Kerns, Bonny Dore and Loreen Arbus and are presented in association with the Lucille Ball Estate. They were named for Lucille Ball, who was not only a legendary actress and comedienne, but also a producer, studio owner, creator and director. They are given to recognize women and men and their creative works that exemplify the extraordinary accomplishments she embodied; whose excellence and innovation have enhanced the perception of women through the medium of television. Past recipients include: Taraji P. Henson, Jill Soloway, Kerry Washington, The Women Of Mad Men (Christina Hendricks, January Jones, Elisabeth Moss, Jessica Paré, Kiernan Shipka), Bonnie Hammer, Nina Tassler, Courteney Cox, Holly Hunter, Salma Hayek, Shonda Rhimes and the women of Grey’s Anatomy, Geena Davis, Debra Messing and Megan Mullally, Blythe Danner, Lily Tomlin, Rosie O’Donnell, Amy Brenneman, Tyne Daley, Phyllis Diller, Marcy Carsey, Carol Burnett, Barbara Walters, Shari Lewis, Garry Marshall, Angela Lansbury, Marlo Thomas, Gary David Goldberg, Diahann Carroll, Tracey Ullman, Fred Silverman, Imogene Coca, Camryn Manheim, Norman Lear, Bud Yorkin and the casts of Sex and the City, If These Walls Could Talk and If These Walls Could Talk 2.

The Women In Film Max Mara Face of the Future Award®, inaugurated at Women In Film’s 2006 Crystal + Lucy Awards®, is given to an actress who is experiencing a turning point in her career through her work in the film and television industries, through her contributions to the community at large, in recognition of her outstanding achievements, and her embodiment of style and grace. Past recipients include Natalie Dormer, Kate Mara, Rose Byrne, Hailee Steinfeld, Chloë Grace Moretz, Katie Holmes, Zoë Saldana, Elizabeth Banks, Ginnifer Goodwin, Emily Blunt and Maria Bello.

Dorothy Arzner was the first female member of the Directors Guild of America. In her honor, the BMW Dorothy Arzner Directors Award® was established to recognize the important role women directors play in the film and television industries. Past recipients include: Lesli Linka Glatter, Ava DuVernay, Jennifer Lee, Sofia Coppola, Pamela Fryman, Lisa Cholodenko, Catherine Hardwicke, Nancy Meyers, Barbra Streisand, Mimi Leder, Barbara Kopple, Gillian Armstrong, Lian Lunson, Joey Lauren Adams and Nicole Holofcener.

Norma Zarky was a founding member of Women In Film. A renowned entertainment attorney and the first woman President of the Beverly Hills Bar Association, she was a tireless advocate of human rights and women’s issues. The Norma Zarky Humanitarian Award® was established in 1979 and is presented to individuals who, like Ms. Zarky herself, have demonstrated enlightened support for the advancement of equal opportunity and devotion to the improvement of the human condition. Past recipients have included: Eva Longoria, George Lucas, Christina Applegate, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Ted Turner, Whoopi Goldberg, Billy Crystal, Robin Williams, Quincy Jones and Elizabeth Taylor (posthumously).

The Women In Film Beacon Award is presented to an entertainment industry professional for outstanding leadership in the advancement of gender equity, signaling and celebrating unbiased decision making in media. Tom Bernard and Michael Barker of Sony Pictures Classics will be given the inaugural award for their unmatched support of female filmmakers consistently and throughout the entire history of their careers.

Who You May Spot: Elizabeth Banks, Tracee Ellis Ross, Zoey Deutch, Mira Nair, Dan Rather, Michael Barker, Tom Bernard

Hint For The Average Socialite: Table and tickets are available for purchase.

What's Trending: @WomenInFilm @ElizabethBanks @TraceeEllisRoss @zoeydeutch @MiraPagliNair @DanRather @Barks_GB