The 49th NAACP Image Awards, LA


When: Sunday, January 14, 2018 

Hot Spot: Pasadena Civic Auditorium, Los Angeles, CA

Deets: Presented annually, the NAACP Image Awards is recognized as the nation’s preeminent multicultural awards show from an African American point of view. The event celebrates the outstanding achievements and performances of people of color in the arts, as well as those individuals or groups who promote social justice through their creative endeavors.

Honorees, presenters, performers and social justice advocates continue to include many of the major celebrities in America as well as international political figures and dignitaries. There are 56 competitive categories in the fields of motion picture, television, recording and literature. There are also several honorary awards including the Chairman’s Award, President’s Award, Vanguard Award, Entertainer of the Year, The Jackie Robinson Sports Award, and the Image Awards Hall of Fame.

Mary J. Blige and JAY-Z lead with five nominations. Bruno Mars, Issa Rae, Kendrick Lamar, and SZA follow with four nominations each, and Charlie Wilson, Idris Elba and Ledisi each received three. Anthony Anderson returns to host the awards show live on Monday, January 15, 2018 — Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday — on TV ONE at 9/8c. One-hour live Red Carpet pre-show just ahead of the two-hour special.

Who You May Spot: Host Anthony Anderson. Past guests include Adrienne Bailon, Alfred Enoch, Anika Noni Rose, Anthony Sparks, Anthony Hemingway, Carl Seaton, Charles Murray, Chloe Bailey, Chris Nee, Courtney Kemp, Courtney B. Vance, Denzel Washington, Deon Cole, Donnie McClurkin, Erica Ash, Ford Riley, Gary Hines, Holly Robinson Pete, Hudson Yang, Issa Rae, Iyanla Vanzant, Jeffrey Wright, Joe Morton, Joy-Ann Reid, Jubba Seyyid, Jussie Smollett, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Kenya Barris, Kofi Siriboe, Larry Wilmore, LaToya Morgan, Lonnie Chavis, Loretta Devine, Lynn Whitfield, Mahershala Ali, Malachi Kirby, Mario Van Peebles, Marsai Martin, Mike O’Malley, Misha Green, Nate Parker, Naturi Naughton, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Paris Barclay, Roland S. Martin, RonReaco Lee, Serayah, Sharon Osbourne, Tamera Mowry, Tika Sumpter, Tina Campbell, Trevor Noah, Viola Davis and more.

Hint For The Average Socialite: We invite you to join us and celebrate a special evening and see the stars up close and personal. We can promise you a star-studded evening you won’t want to miss! Balcony tickets only are now available for sale here at Ticketmaster for $150. (Orchestra and Lodge sections are sold out.)

Watch the 49th NAACP Image Awards on MLK Day, January 15, 2018 LIVE at 9/8c on TV ONE. One-hour live Red Carpet pre-show just ahead of the two-hour special.

For all information and latest news, and complete list of winners (including non-televised awards), please visit the official NAACP Image Awards website at

What's Trending: @naacpimageaward #ImageAwards