2018 Crystal + Lucy Awards®, LA


Affair: 2018 Crystal + Lucy Awards®

When: Wednesday, June 13, 2018 @ 6PM

Hot Spot: The Beverly Hilton, Beverly Hills, CA

Deets: Women In Film, Los Angeles (WIF LA) announced the honorees for the 2018 Women In Film Crystal + Lucy Awards® presented by Max Mara and Lancôme. Since 1977, Women In Film, Los Angeles has annually honored outstanding women in the entertainment industry – women who lead by example, are creative, groundbreaking, and excel at their chosen fields. The annual benefit gala supports WIF LA’s educational and philanthropic programs and its advocacy for gender parity for women throughout the industry. The evening, themed “Ignited,” will be held on Wednesday, June 13 at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, CA. 

The 2018 Crystal + Lucy Award® honorees are:
- The Crystal Award for Excellence in Film – BRIE LARSON

- The Lucy Award for Excellence in Television – CHANNING DUNGEY

- The Women In Film Max Mara Face of the Future Award® – ALEXANDRA SHIPP

- The Women In Film Artistic Excellence Award – NOVA Wav (DENISIA “BLU JUNE” ANDREWS and BRITTANY “CHI” CONEY)

The evening’s program will also celebrate Women In Film, Los Angeles’ 45th Anniversary and recognize the leaders of the gender parity movement in Hollywood with the “45 years of Advocacy Celebration” segment presented by Oscar-winning actress Frances McDormand. Leaders from the past and present will be acknowledged for their outstanding leadership in the advancement of gender equity.

Cathy Schulman, President of Women In Film, Los Angeles, said, “Throughout its history, Women In Film has focused its efforts on the kind of gender advocacy that is now sweeping through the screen industries like a tidal wave. The theme of this year’s Crystal + Lucy Awards Gala is ‘Ignited,’ referencing the tipping point we’re living in and Women In Film’s responsibility as a thought leader to keep the flame burning for a sustainable future - freed from the constraints of gender bias.”

The 2018 Crystal + Lucy Awards is presented by sponsors Max Mara for the 16th year and Lancôme for the first year. The event is designed and produced by Academy Award-winning producer Cathy Schulman and Tony Schubert of Event Eleven. Iris Grossman, President Emeritus of Women In Film, Los Angeles, returns this year as Advisor for the Awards.

About Women In Film and the Awards
Women In Film advocates for and advances the careers of women working in the screen industries -- to achieve parity and transform culture. Founded in 1973, Women In Film supports all women working in film, TV, and digital media from emerging to advanced career. Our distinguished programs include: mentoring, speaker & screening series, production training program, writing labs, film finishing funds, legal aid and an annual financing intensive. We advocate for gender parity through research, media campaigns and ReFrame, a collaboration with Sundance Institute. Women In Film honors the achievements of women in Hollywood through the legacy series, annual Emmy and Oscar parties and our signature event, the Crystal + Lucy Awards. Membership is open to all media professionals and more information can be found on our website: www.womeninfilm.org

The Crystal Award was established in 1977 to honor outstanding women who, through their endurance and the excellence of their work, have helped to expand the role of women within the entertainment industry. Past recipients include Elizabeth Banks, Nicole Kidman, Cate Blanchett, Laura Linney, Viola Davis, Annette Bening, Donna Langley, Jennifer Aniston, Diane English and the cast of The Women, Renée Zellweger, Jennifer Lopez, Sandra Bullock, Gwyneth Paltrow, Diane Lane, Halle Berry, Laura Ziskin, Jessica Lange, Meryl Streep, Jodie Foster, Angela Bassett, Meg Ryan, Susan Sarandon, Michelle Pfeiffer, Alfre Woodard, Polly Platt, Lauren Shuler Donner, Diane Warren, Amy Heckerling, Paula Weinstein, Martha Coolidge, Buffy Shutt and Kathy Jones, Gale Anne Hurd, Nancy Malone, Maya Angelou, Lily Tomlin, Ruby Dee, Penny Marshall, Jessica Tandy, Barbara Boyle, Nikki Rocco, Jean Firstenberg, Lee Remick, Lina Wertmuller, Bette Davis, Bette Midler, Goldie Hawn, Diane Keaton, Sherry Lansing, Nora Ephron, Dawn Steel, Fay Kanin, Lillian Gish, Whoopi Goldberg, Glenn Close, Amy Pascal, Denise Di Novi, Lucy Fisher, Lianne Halfon, Lynda Obst, Jane Rosenthal, and Paula Wagner.

The Lucy Award was founded in 1994 by Joanna Kerns, Bonny Dore and Loreen Arbus and are presented in association with the Lucille Ball Estate. They were named for Lucille Ball, who was not only a legendary actress and comedienne, but also a producer, studio owner, creator and director. They are given to recognize women and men and their creative works that exemplify the extraordinary accomplishments she embodied; whose excellence and innovation have enhanced the perception of women through the medium of television. Past recipients include: Tracee Ellis Ross, Taraji P. Henson, Jill Soloway, Kerry Washington, The Women Of Mad Men (Christina Hendricks, January Jones, Elisabeth Moss, Jessica Paré, Kiernan Shipka), Bonnie Hammer, Nina Tassler, Courteney Cox, Holly Hunter, Salma Hayek, Shonda Rhimes and the women of Grey’s Anatomy, Geena Davis, Debra Messing and Megan Mullally, Blythe Danner, Lily Tomlin, Rosie O’Donnell, Amy Brenneman, Tyne Daley, Phyllis Diller, Marcy Carsey, Carol Burnett, Barbara Walters, Shari Lewis, Garry Marshall, Angela Lansbury, Marlo Thomas, Gary David Goldberg, Diahann Carroll, Tracey Ullman, Fred Silverman, Imogene Coca, Camryn Manheim, Norman Lear, Bud Yorkin and the casts of Sex and the City, If These Walls Could Talk and If These Walls Could Talk 2.

The Women In Film Max Mara Face of the Future Award®, inaugurated at Women In Film’s 2006 Crystal + Lucy Awards®, is given to an actress who is experiencing a turning point in her career through her work in the film and television industries, through her contributions to the community at large, in recognition of her outstanding achievements, and her embodiment of style and grace. Past recipients include Zoey Deutch, Natalie Dormer, Kate Mara, Rose Byrne, Hailee Steinfeld, Chloë Grace Moretz, Katie Holmes, Zoë Saldana, Elizabeth Banks, Ginnifer Goodwin, Emily Blunt and Maria Bello.

The Women In Film Artistic Excellence Award was designed to honor women who demonstrate excellence in their screen craft, in all areas of production and post production.

Who You May Spot: Frances McDormand, Brie Larson, Channing Dungey, Alexandra Shipp

Hint For The Average Socialite: Purchase tickets here.

What's Trending: @WomenInFilm #CrystalLucys